If you have driven across the state border for a weekend away or a work event, you may have gone out for what you thought were a few harmless drinks before driving to your Colorado accommodation. The way alcoholic drinks affect our blood stream can be hard to fully control, so other factors such as hydration, body weight and food intake can lead to our being officially over the limit even when we think that we have not imbibed very much.
If you got pulled over and charged with a DUI while you were in the state of Colorado, you will probably feel more stressed and confused about the occurrence than if you had been pulled over in your home state of Wyoming. DUI laws differ slightly between states, so if you want to fully understand your DUI charge and take steps to figure out how to defend yourself from it, you should start to research the law.
Understanding DUI laws in Colorado
As in the rest of the United States, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in the state of Colorado is 0.08 percent. If a driver does not exhibit any type of drunken behavior yet measures a BAC of 0.08 percent on a field Breathalyzer test, they can be charged with a DUI and can have their license suspended.
Field-based Breathalyzer tests have a reputation for being inaccurate. If you are convinced that you were not intoxicated when you were pulled over in Colorado, you may want to consider challenging the DUI. There are many things that can cause false positive results on a Breathalyzer test. For example, the use of alcohol based mouthwash has been known to affect the result, and sufferers of diabetes and other illnesses can have a high BAC measurements even when they have not consumed any alcoholic beverages.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Colorado as a Wyoming resident, it is important that you do not bury your head in the sand and that you consider the possibility of successfully defending yourself against the DUI charge.