When you are driving outside of your home state, it can be difficult to get a grasp on the slightly different rules of the road, and how different driving laws are enforced. Therefore, it can be common for out-of-state drivers to get pulled over, often being subject to a Breathalyzer test as a result.
In the state of Colorado, driving with alcohol in your system is taken extremely seriously. If you are found to be driving with a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration, you will face a revocation of your license for nine months. In addition, you may face a fine of up to $1500, as well as jail time and community service. It doesn't matter in which state in the U.S. you reside; if you are driving in Colorado, you legally have to abide by their rules.
If you were found to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.17 percent or higher, your offense will be termed as an aggravated DUI. This is an enhanced penalty that carries with it harsher consequences.
What happens if I get pulled over and I am found to be over the limit?
If your blood alcohol concentration measures over the legal limit, you will be arrested, handcuffed and taken to a jail. Your car will be impounded. You will then register your details so that you can receive a revocation/suspension notice.
When you receive the notice you have seven days from which to request a hearing. This must be done by physically visiting the DMV and filing a request. You will need to hand in your driver's license. However, depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you may be eligible for a temporary license while you await the hearing. The hearing is when the final decision on your DUI will be made.
How can I get reinstated early?
You may be able to reinstate your driver's license early by agreeing to install an ignition interlock device. This device makes it impossible for you to drive under the influence of alcohol, because the car will not start unless you successfully measure your blood alcohol concentration as below the legal limit.
If you are facing a DUI charge in Colorado but reside in a different state, it is important that you do research so that you understand exactly how the law differs in respect to DUI charges.